UK dates and venues

The currently available dates and venues for Trinity Rock and Pop exams are listed below. Further dates are constantly being confirmed - check back to this page for details. You don’t need to contact the venues directly – you can enter for these exams online. Where available a local contact is listed for each centre who you can contact with any questions.

Please check the closing date for your chosen centre on the list below, or if none is listed you can check with the local contact when entries will stop being accepted. Even if the closing date has passed, if the date is not visible then late entries may still be possible if there is space in the timetable, contact the local contact for details.

Where a session is listed as 'week' the exams may take place on any day of the week including Saturdays and Sundays. Not all days in the week will necessarily be available, and the exact dates used will depend on demand. We are not be able to accommodate very specific requests for particular dates or times, but shall observe requests made to avoid a certain day as far as possible. All applicants should be aware that your application for an examination commits you to take the exam on one of the days advertised. See Trinity's Information and Regulations booklet for further details on examination procedures that apply to examinations entered through this website.

Please click on the link below to jump to centres in your region:

UK Examiner Visits

Northern Ireland

Scotland

Wales

Channel Islands

East of England

East Midlands

London

North East

North West

South East

South West

West Midlands

Yorkshire and the Humber

 

UK Private Examiner Visits

Any school or teacher in the UK paying over £500 fees may run their own private centre through the Examiner Visit scheme.

 

 

Northern Ireland

Antrim
2017 Exam dates: Exams commencing 26 June (closing 13 May)

Local contact Norma Logan, 028 25 878778, norma.logan@trinitycollege.co.uk

The Music Rooms, Antrim
Unit 19 Antrim Business Park, Enkalon, Antrim, BT41 4LD

Belfast
2017 Exam dates: Exams commencing 26 June (closing 13 May)

Local contact Norma Logan, 028 25 878778, norma.logan@trinitycollege.co.uk

The Duncairn Complex
Duncairn Avenue, Belfast, County Antrim, BT14 6BP

Coleraine
2017 Exam dates: Exams commencing 26 June (closing 13 May)

Local contact Howard Gillespie, 028 7035 2258, howard.gillespie@trinitycollege.co.uk

A C Electronics and Music 
10 Lower Captain Street, Coleraine, BT51 3DT

Newry
2017 Exam dates: Exams commencing 26 June (closing 13 May)

Local contact Keith Faloon, 07912 660452, keith.faloon@trinitycollege.co.uk

Downshire Road Presbyterian Church Hall
Downshire Road, Newry

Derry / Londonderry
2017 Exam dates: Exams commencing 26 June (closing 13 May)

Local contact Sean Woods, 02871 311288, woodssean@hotmail.com

Birchwoods Recording Studio
21 Ardfada, Derry/Londonderry, BT47 3WH

 

 

Scotland

Aberdeen
2017 Scottish exams:
Summer: From 12 June (closing 13 May)
Autumn: From 20 November

For enquiries contact: Sharon Griffiths, 01330 850578, sharon.griffiths@trinitycollege.co.uk

Three venues:
Captain Tom's Rehearsal & Recording Rooms, 15 Ann Street, Aberdeen, AB25 3LH
Chalmers MacKay Studios, 37 Dee Street, Aberdeen, AB11 6DY
Chalmers MacKay Studios, 41 High Street, Inverurie, AB51 3QA

Edinburgh
2017 Scottish exams:
Summer: From 12 June (closing 13 May)
Autumn: From 20 November

For enquiries contact: Wallace Galbraith, 07967 222572, r.wallace.galbraith@gmail.com

Edinburgh College
Milton Road Campus, 24 Milton Road East, Edinburgh, Midlothian, EH15 2PP

Glasgow Busby
2017 Scottish exams:
Summer: From 12 June (closing 13 May)
Autumn: From 20 November

For enquiries contact: Wallace Galbraith, 07967 222572, r.wallace.galbraith@gmail.com

Riverside Music Complex
28 Field Road, Busby, G76 8SE

Glasgow central
2017 Scottish exams:
Summer: From 12 June (closing 13 May)
Autumn: From 20 November

For enquiries contact: Wallace Galbraith, 07967 222572, r.wallace.galbraith@gmail.com

Berkeley 2 Studios
93 Lancefield Street, Glasgow, G3 8HZ

Stirling
2017 Scottish exams:
Summer: From 12 June (closing 13 May)
Autumn: From 20 November

For enquiries contact: Brian Hurren, info@stirlingrockschool.co.uk

Stirling Rock School
c/o Stageworx, Millhall East, Stirling, FK7 7LT

 

 

Wales

Wales - Cardiff
2017 Exam dates: week 3 July (closing 28 April)

Local contact: Jonathan Helm, 07971 044191, hillfarmbarn@gmail.com

MusicRoomz
92 Ty-Mawr Road, Llandaff North, Cardiff, CF14 2FQ

Wales - Colwyn Bay
2017 Exam dates: 21 May (closing 2 April)

Local contact: Alycon Abbott-Brown, alyconabbottbrown@gmail.com

North Wales Music Tuition Charity
Century House, Colwyn Bay, LL29 8NB

 

 

Channel Islands

Guernsey
2017 Exam dates: 28 June (closing 7 May)

Local contact:Malcolm Vivyan, malcolm.vivyan@trinitycollege.co.uk

The School of Popular Music
King Centre (Church on the Rock), New Road, St. Sampsons, GY2 4QE

Jersey
2017 Exam dates to be confirmed

Local contact: Jodie Tostevin, 07700 333937

Elim Rock Community centre
Gordon Le Breton Close, Plat Douet Road, St Saviour, JE2 7PY

 

 

East of England

Bedford
2017 Provisional exam dates:
Summer: 29-30 June (closing 14 May)
Autumn: 30 November-1 December

Local contact: Audrey Powell, 01462 431484, bedford.music@trinitycollege.co.uk

The Sound Garage
Unit 3 Singer Court, Singer Way, Woburn Road Industrial Estate, Kempston, Bedford, Bedfordshire, MK42 7AW

Bishop's Stortford, Broxbourne and Hertford
2017 Exam dates:
Summer: Various dates starting 26 June (closing 12 May)
Various dates starting 4 December

Local contact: Clare Hale, 07814 951862, clare.hale@trinitycollege.co.uk

Bury St Edmunds
2017 Exam dates: 7 July (closing 12 May), 1 December

Local contact: Margo Pigott, 01449 766104, Margo.Pigott@btinternet.com

The Shrubbery
Britannia House, Brunel Business Court, Eastern Way, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, IP32 7AJ

Cambridgeshire (Huntingdon)
2017 Exam dates: 17-19 June (closing 14 May), 25-27 November

Local contact: Mark Aldous, 01223 276558, mark.aldous@trinitycollege.co.uk

Cambridgeshire Music, 
36 Mayfield Road, Huntingdon, PE29 1NL

Chelmsford
2017 Exam dates:
Summer: Saturdays 8 and 15 July (closing 27 May)
Autumn: Saturdays 9 and 16 December

For enquiries please contact Kev Ward, kevin.ward@trinitycollege.co.uk

A. T. Music Group Studios
Unit 11 Rawlings Farm Buildings, Rettendon, Chelmsford, Essex, CM3 8DY

St Albans and Hatfield
2017 Exam dates: week of 12 June (closing 7 May), week of 30 October

Local contact:Dr Nigel Springthorpe, nigel.springthorpe@trinitycollege.co.uk

Tring
2017 Exam dates: 8 July (closing 21 May)

Local contact:Dr Nigel Springthorpe, nigel.springthorpe@trinitycollege.co.uk

 

 

East Midlands

Derby
2017 Exam dates: 2 April, 16 and 23 July

Local contact: Andy McAllister, 07970 900804, andymcallister@me.com

77-81 Osmsaton Road
Derby, Derbyshire, DE1 2JH

Grantham, Lincolnshire
2017 Exam dates: 28-30 June (closing 8 May)

Local contact: Juliet Riley, 01476 585344, juliet.riley@trinitycollege.co.uk

Simmonds Music
Westgate, Grantham, NG31 6LT

Leicester
2017 Exam dates: week 3 July (closing 14 May)

Local contact: Richard Pells, 07815 694272, richardjpells@gmail.com

The Drum Academy
The International Arts Centre, Garden Street, Leicester. LE1 3UA

Lincoln
2017 Exam dates: week 26 June (closing 12 May), week 27 November

Local contact: Juliet Kirman, juliet@kirman.org, 07910 189161

Myle Cross Music Centre
Macaulay Drive, Saint Giles, Lincoln, LN2 4EL

Northampton
2017 Exam dates: 13-15 June (closing 14 May), 5-6 December

Local contact: Julie Clark, 01604 637117 or jclark@nmpat.co.uk

Northamptonshire Performing Arts Centre
125-129 Kettering Road, Northampton, NN1 4AZ

Nottingham
2017 Exam dates: week 19 June (closing 14 May), week 27 November

Local contact: Robert Parker, 0115 982 2790 or robert.parker@trinitycollege.co.uk

MLC - Academy
Abbey Road Music, 43 Abbey Road, West Bridgford, Nottingham, NG2 5NG

 

London

Acton
2017 Exam dates: 27 May (closing 21 April), 24 June (closing 22 May)

Local contact:Toby Davies, 07599 628534 or toby.davies@trinitycollege.co.uk

Bell Music
5-6 Greenock Road, Acton, London, W3 8DU

Bromley
2017 Exam dates: 15 June, 22 June and 11 July (closing 14 May)

Local contact:Sue Brown, 020 8467 1566 or sue@bymt.co.uk

Bromley Music Centre
Southborough Lane, Bromley, Kent, BR2 8AA

Islington
2017 Exam dates:
28 May (closing 30 April)
4 June (closing 7 May)
18 June (closing 21 May)
9, 16 and 23 July (closing 11 June)

Contact: Toby Davies, 07599 628534 or toby.davies@trinitycollege.co.uk

The Planet Drum
The Crypt, St Mary Magdalene Church, Holloway Road, Islington, London, N7 8LT

The entrance to the crypt is on the south side of St Mary Magdalene church, which is on the opposite side of the main entrance. If the main gate is closed, the small gate to the left of the church is open 24 hours.

Lambeth
2017 Exam dates: 28 May, 1-2 July

Contact: Toby Davies, 07599 628534 or toby.davies@trinitycollege.co.uk

London Centre of Contemporary Music
Arches 140/141, Newport Street, London, SE11 6AQ

Little Venice
2017 Exam dates: 8-9 July (closing 5 June)

Contact: Toby Davies, 07599 628534 or toby.davies@trinitycollege.co.uk

Westbourne Rehearsal Studios
The Rear Basement, 92-98 Bourne Terrace, Little Venice, London, W2 5TH

Stratford
2017 Exam dates: 15-16 July (closing 5 May), 2-3 December

Contact: Sylvia Sayer, 020 3598 6260 or sylvia.sayer@newham-music.org.uk

Lister Community School
St Mary's Rd, Plaistow, London E13 9AE

Sutton
2017 Exam dates: week 5 June (closing 1 May), week 17 July (closing 15 June)

Please be aware that exams in Sutton typically run between 09:00 and 15:30. Later exam times will not be available, please consider another centre if you require an exam outside of school time.

Contact: Toby Davies, 07599 628534 or toby.davies@trinitycollege.co.uk

Sutton Music Centre
35 St Nicholas Way, Sutton, Surrey, SM1 1JN

 

North East

Newcastle
2017 Exam dates: Week 10 July

For enquiries please contact Steve Levesley, stephen.levesley@trinitycollege.co.uk

The Academy of Music & Sound
191 High Street, Gateshead NE8 1AS

 

 

North West

Barrow-in-Furness
2017 Exam dates: 24 September (closing 28 August)

Local contact:Lesley Harris, 07729 742314, southlakesrockschool@gmail.com

South Lakes Rock School
The Great Hall, Victoria Halls, Rawlinson Street, Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1BX

Blackburn
2017 Exam dates: 8-9 July (closing 28 April), 9-10 December

Local contact:Alison Norman, 01254 677204, alison.norman@trinitycollege.co.uk

Elite School of Music
159-161 Blackburn Road, Darwen, Lancashire, BB3 1ET

Isle of Man
2017 Exam dates: 28 June (closing 7 May), 6 December (closing 6 October)

Local contact: Avril Pickard, 01624 835776, avril.pickard@trinitycollege.co.uk

The Music Centre, St Ninians Lower School
Heywood Avenue, Onchan, Isle of Man, IM3 3AR

Liverpool
2017 Exam dates: 22-26 May (closing 31 March), 3-15 July, 4-16 December

Local contact: Paul Sheridan, 07717 597340, paul.sheridan@trinitycollege.co.uk

Learn Music
Bankfield Road, Stoneycroft, Liverpool, Merseyside, L13 0BD

Manchester

Moved to Stockport

Preston
2017 Exam dates: 2-3 July (closing 9 May), 12-13 November

Local contact: Chris Jopson, 01772 888136, info@jopsonmusicacademy.com

Jopson Music Academy
82a Wellfield Road, Preston, PR1 8SN

Stockport
2017 Exam dates: 8 July (closing 5 May), 9 December

Local contact: Alan Cope, 01625 614451, alan.cope@trinitycollege.co.uk

Cheadle Hulme School
Claremont Road, Cheadle Hulme, Cheshire, SK8 6EG

 

 

South East

Bracknell
2017 Exam dates: 25 June (closing 14 May)

Local contact:Mary Childs, 07719 277747, mary.childs@trinitycollege.co.uk

Open Learning Centre
Chadwick Mews, Bracknell, Berkshire, RG12 7GR

Brighton
2017 Exam dates: 17-18 June (closing 5 May), 2-3 December

Local contact:Rowena Alameddine, 07776 304960, rowena.alameddine@trinitycollege.co.uk

Brighton Electric Recording Co. Ltd.
Tramway House, 43-45 Coombe Terrace, Brighton, BN2 4AD

Canterbury
2017 Exam dates: 12-13 July (closing 31 May), 29-30 November

Local contact:Carol Cowling, 01227 456331, ccowling@ymscanterbury.co.uk

Your Music Canterbury
Simmonds Road, Wincheap Estate, Canterbury, Kent, CT1 3RA

Chichester
2017 Exam dates: 7 July (closing 14 May)

Local contact:Jennifer Flatman, 07803 584731, nennyflump@hotmail.com

Jam Studio
Unit 5, Littlemead Business Centre, Chichester, PO20 2EU

Newbury
2017 Exam dates: 9-10 July (closing 12 May), 19-20 November

Local contact:Kirsty Wood, 01635 37868, kirsty@hoganmusic.co.uk

Hogan Music
Winchcombe, 123-126 Bartholomew Street, Newbury, Berkshire, RG14 5BN

Oxford
2017 Exam dates: 20-22 June (closing 14 May), 28-30 November

Local contact: Megan Hooper, 01865 762741, megan.trinityexam@btinternet.com

Oxfordshire Music Rooms
Home Farm, Berrick Road, Chalgrove, Oxon, OX44 7RQ

Portsmouth
2017 Exam dates: 8 July (closing 14 May)

Local contact:Jennifer Flatman, 07803 584731, nennyflump@hotmail.com

Portsmouth Music Academy
88 Northern Road, Cosham, Portsmouth. PO6 3ER

Romsey
2017 Exam dates: 8-9 July (closing 12 May), 2-3 December

Local contact: Diane Williams, 07758 379934, diane.williams2@ntlworld.com

The Lantern Theatre, Mountbatten School
Whitenap Lane, Romsey, Hampshire, SO51 5SY

Tonbridge
2017 Exam dates:
Summer: 28-29 June, 5-6 July and 12-13 July (closing 12 May)
Autumn: 22-23 and 29-30 November (closing 6 October)

Local contact: James Sedge, 01732 360388, trinityexams@musicstation.pro

MusicStation
3 Bank Street, Tonbridge, Kent, TN9 1BL

Woking
2017 Exam dates: 26-28 June (closing 14 May), 27-29 November

Local contact:Neal Leggett, 07766 555218, neal@poprox.co.uk

WaterRat Studios
Unit 1, The Depot, Monument Way East, Woking, GU21 5LY

 

 

South West

Bath
2017 Exam dates: 16 June (closing 12 May), 24 November

Local contact: Janette Pearson, 01225 331138, janette.pearson@trinitycollege.co.uk

Stage 2 Studios 
Unit 13 Brassmill Enterprise Centre, Brassmill Lane, Bath, BA1 3JN

Bournemouth and Poole
2017 Exam dates: 24-26 June (closing 12 May), 18-19 November

Local contact: Eileen Hayes, 01202 760336, eileen.hayes@trinitycollege.co.uk

Absolutemusic Studios
Knighton Heath, 855 Ringwood Road, Bournemouth, Dorset, BH11 8NE

Bristol
Exact dates used will depend on demand
2017 Exam dates: week 11 June (closing 14 May), week 6 November

Local contact:Nicola Harbour, 0117 9864805, grahame.harbour@blueyonder.co.uk

Factory Studios
Unit 23 Barton Hill Trading Estate, Maze Street, Bristol, BS5 9TQ

Exeter
2017 Exam dates: 1-2 July (closing 12 May), 2-3 December

Local contact: Alison Burnett, 01395 272401, alison.burnett@trinitycollege.co.uk

Exeter Music School
Manston Terrace, Exeter, Devon, EX2 4NS

Gloucester
2017 Exam dates: 22-23 June (closing 12 May), 20-21 November

Local contact: Christine Lundegaard, 07764 515077, christine.lundegaard@trinitycollege.co.uk

Colwell Arts Centre
Derby Road, Gloucester, GL1 4AD

Midsomer Norton, Somerset
2017 Exam dates: 1-2 July (closing 14 May), 2-3 December

Local contact: Suzanne Fiddes, 01761 434535, suzanne.fiddes@trinitycollege.co.uk

All Instruments Limited
125 High St, Midsomer Norton BA3 2HN

Plymouth
2017 Exam dates: 29-30 June (closing 5 May), 23-24 November

Local contact: Olwen Knowles, 01752 661899, olwen.knowles@trinitycollege.co.uk

The Soundhouse, Tor Bridge High
Miller Way, Estover, PL6 8UN

Sturminster Newton
2017 Exam dates: 30 June (closing 28 April)

Local contact: Eileen Hayes, 01202 760336, eileen.hayes@trinitycollege.co.uk

Sturminster Newton High School
Bath Road, Sturminster Newton, Dorset, DT10 1DT

Swindon
2017 Exam dates: week 19 June (closing 8 May), week 13 November

Local contact: Marcia Scales, 01793 823510, libra@hpscales.eclipse.co.uk

Pegasus Brass Band Hall
Ermin Street, Stratton St Margaret, Swindon, Wiltshire, SN3 4RH

Torbay
2017 Exam dates: 8-9 July (closing 14 May), 2-3 December

Local contact: Joanna Walling, 07713 593869, joanna@jjsartsacademy.com

JJ's Arts Academy
11 St. Paul's Road, Newton Abbot, Devon, TQ12 2HP

 

 

West Midlands

Birmingham
2017 Exam dates: week 3 July (closing 29 May), week 6 November

Local contacts:
Gary Walmsley, 0121 212 9642, gary@progress-academy.co.uk
Steve Smith, 0121 212 9642, steve@progress-academy.co.uk

Progress Music Academy
33-35 Northampton Street, Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham, B18 6DU

Shrewsbury
2017 Exam dates: 3 July

Local contact: Pauline Reid, 07985 980878, trinity.paulinereid@gmail.com

Shrewsbury School
The Schools, Shrewsbury, SY3 7BA

Wolverhampton
2017 Exam dates: 29-30 June (closing 14 May), 30 November-1 December

Local contact: Alyson Lewin, 07751 964156, alysonlewin712@btinternet.com

Wolverhampton Music School 
Graiseley Hill, Wolverhampton, WV2 4NE

Worcester 
2017 Exam dates: 25 June and 2 July (closing 14 May)

Local contact: Hannah Talbot-Cooper, 07748 636820, hannahtalbotcooper@hotmail.co.uk

The Elgar School of Music 
16-20 Deansway, Worcester, WR1 2ES

 

 

Yorkshire and the Humber

Doncaster
2017 Exam dates: week 12 July (closing 12 May), week 4 December

Local contact: Angela Belbin-Wood, 01302 886444, angela.belbin-wood@trinitycollege.co.uk

Doncaster Jazz Centre
Beckett Road, Doncaster, South Yorkshire, DN2 4AA

Halifax
2017 Exam dates: 1 July (closing 28 April), 2 December

Local contact: Nicolas Sykes, 07999 295683, nj_sykes@btinternet.com

RAW Studios,
Unit 11, 1 Mill Lane, Boothtown, Halifax, HX3 6QL

Leeds
2017 Exam dates: week 26 June (closing 5 May), week 4 December

Local contact: Dagmar Fitzpatrick, 07518 757905, dagmar.fitzpatrick@trinitycollege.co.uk

Scarborough
2017 Exam dates: 17 July, week 20 November

Local contact:Peter Buckby, 07870 985545, peter@innovation-music.co.uk

Innovation Music School
4 St Johns Road, Scarborough, YO12 5ET

Sheffield
2017 Exam dates: week 10 July (closing 28 May), week 4 December

Local contact:Daniel Johnston, 07706 546519, jude1972@hotmail.co.uk

95 Mary Street
Sheffield, S1 4RT

Wakefield (Fitzwilliam)
2017 Exam dates: 13-14 July (closing 2 June), 20-21 November

Local contact:Janet Hadjioannou, 07892 704845, janet.hadjioannou@trinitycollege.co.uk

Octave Music Workshop
Church of the Resurrection, Wakefield Road, Fitzwilliam, Pontefract, WF9 5BP

 

2015-17 SYLLABUS

READY TO
STEP UP?

ROCK & POP
BROCHURE

 

 

ROCK & POP BLOG









News & Events

29 Mar

Meet another of Trinity’s Rock & Pop examiners

'Imagine you’ve just walked on stage [with] 20,000 people screaming your name.'

16 Mar

Get ideas for giving your vocals performance excitement and edge with Trinity’s new vocals improvising skills videos

Improvisation is a key skill for contemporary musicians. Many of the best tracks you hear came from studio improvisation sessions.

22 Feb

Back by popular demand - new blog post on the life of an examiner

As the last series of blog posts on the life of an examiner proved so popular, we’d like to share a few more examiner stories with you. In this new